• Register
  • Help

Topic: Copywrites

I was just browsing the music section at the local public library and saw a book that contained some old music. One song from 1905 (forgot the title) was said to still be in copywrite as of this publishing (by Warner Music).

Then I saw "Green Sleeves". This song is attributed to Henry VIII, yet at the bottom of the page was (C)1972. So how can that be. It's not a copywrite of the book, it's the piece itself.

There was some discussion in another thread about Gershwin and 70 years after death his music (possibly) falling into the public domain. So what is the law on this kind of stuff, and is there a web site that you can check to see if a piece of music is protected by copywrite?

Re: Copywrites

OK - so I just noticed it should be copyrights..... I'm a public school grad

But on the larger point, if companies like Warner automatically re-instate copyrights, can this go in in perpetuity?

hehe--Look, dsampson55, now you have Tom "Prince of Music" doing it -"copywrite." It's a common error.

Just remember that the term is referring to the rights of creators. The right to copy what someone composes, writes, paints, photographs, designs, choreographs -etc--those rights are automatically in control of the creator. That person, or their legal representative, can give someone else the right to copy that piece of work, usually subject to the payment of a royalty.

The right to copy. That's the way to remember it.

As far as the copyright notice showing up on works in the public domain, like the "Green Sleeves" example - Publishers routinely copyright their editions. Pick up the Gilbert and Sullivan scores which are in the public domain -Schirmer and Dover, whoever else publishes their works - they have a copyright for their version, their publication.

Randy B.

"here was some discussion in another thread about Gershwin and 70 years after death his music (possibly) falling into the public domain."