• Register
  • Help
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Topic: Sata Drive Error Messasge

Share/Bookmark
  1. #1
    Senior Member Steve_Karl's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA 15206 USA
    Posts
    1,425

    Sata Drive Error Messasge

    Hi,

    There are 2 sata drives in the machine in question.
    One is the boot drive and the new one was just put in today.

    The error message is "device not ready, windows unable to copy"
    when attempting to move some video files files to the new drive.

    First: Is it necessary ( in sata world ) that the boot drive be on a specific channel relative to other sata drives?
    Reason is, that I noticed the boot drive is on 2 and the new storage drive is on 1.

    Also, are there any jumper settings on the drive that need to be made?

    Thanks,

  2. #2

    Re: Sata Drive Error Messasge

    I can't recall having seen jumpers on my SATA drives, but you may have to boot from the drive on connector 1 (or whatever they call it). On my MB (ASUS P5W DH Deluxe) SATA connector 1 is specifically called "Boot" and the rest "Data", although it is possible to use 1 as a Data drive, if I boot from a PATA drive.

  3. #3
    Senior Member Steve_Karl's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA 15206 USA
    Posts
    1,425

    Re: Sata Drive Error Messasge

    Thaniks Nick.

    Yes. I couldn't see any jumpers either. Just a blank spot on the drive frame where they usually are on a pata.

    It still boots fine with the boot drive on # 2, but maybe that's the issue with the one on # 1 not being stable?

  4. #4
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Chandler, Arizona
    Posts
    4,045

    Re: Sata Drive Error Messasge

    There are no jumpers on SATA drives. Some BIOS' allow you to pick which drive you want to boot off of. I'm using Gigabyte motherboards and they give you this option.

    It sounds like you are already booting to Windows off your original drive. Have you formatted the new drive? Right click on My Computer and select Manage. Then click on Disk Management in the left window. You should see the new drive as Disk 1. If it doesn't have a drive letter assigned, then you'll need to give it one. Then look to see if it's formatted. It should show how many GB and the file system such as NTFS on the middle line. The bottom line will show Healthy if the drive is formatted and working properly.

    Jim

  5. #5
    Senior Member Steve_Karl's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA 15206 USA
    Posts
    1,425

    Re: Sata Drive Error Messasge

    I formatted it with Partition Magic originally.
    I'm going to delete the partiton and do it with XP Disk Management and I'll report back what that's done.

  6. #6
    Senior Member Steve_Karl's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA 15206 USA
    Posts
    1,425

    Re: Sata Drive Error Messasge

    I formatted it with Partition Magic originally.
    I'm going to delete the partiton and do it with XP Disk Management and I'll report back what that's done.

  7. #7
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Chandler, Arizona
    Posts
    4,045

    Re: Sata Drive Error Messasge

    Which version of Partition Magic are you using? Some versions don't support the current drive sizes. If you have PM 8.0, then make sure you upgrade that version. It's either 8.01 or SP1 you add. Then you may need to add another additional patch which corrects a couple issues with the last update. See Symantec's website.

    Jim

  8. #8
    Senior Member Steve_Karl's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA 15206 USA
    Posts
    1,425

    Re: Sata Drive Error Messasge

    8.01

    It was a bad drive.

    RMAd to newegg.com

Go Back to forum

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •