• Register
  • Help

Topic: OT: Musical noob question/rhythm pattern of swngwaltz

Share/Bookmark

Question OT: Musical noob question/rhythm pattern of swngwaltz

Don't know if this is proper place for this question, sorry if it's not.

I just wrote a melody... but didn't really write it, just played it on a Yamaha DGX-205 keyboard, and now i want to write it in Finale and render with GPO and JABB. It's on top of an auto-accompaniment 113 Swgwaltz, and would like to know if anyone can show me what this pattern which is in 3/4 looks like.

I know that probably sounds lame, but i'm not good at figuring out established rhythm patterns yet, i can work out the chords in notatation but not the patterns.

I tried googling but apparently Yamaha thinks it is copyrighted material, which i doubt. How can you copyright an old standard rhythm? I would think that the rhythm of Swing Waltz would be a standard and only copyrightable after it is made into a set of chords with a melody on top.

Can anyone help me please? And if you don't have a Yamaha keyboard for reference, Im sure any jpg, tiff, or midi of any other swing waltz would probably work, so i could maybe modify as needed to get where i'm trying to go.

Thanks,
    David

Re: OT: Musical noob question/rhythm pattern of swngwaltz

One thing i forgot to say:

If you record as a midi from this keyboard it has some kind of built in limitation, where the accompaniment styles don't record... actually i think if when using those styles, nothing will record.

Ok i think i figured it out... a dotted eighth and a sixteenth, times three for each measure. Is that what you would use?

and what would some soft brush percussion to go with that look like?

Oh nevermind about the percussion, i think i'll just have some distant rumbling timpani at the end, yeah that's the ticket.

Leaf,
    Here you go, Jazz Swing MIDI file and Jazz Swing fast MIDI file.

Note: Except it's not 3/4 (waltz)

Hope this helps,

Long

Hi, David "Leaf"