• Register
  • Help

Topic: PMI Emperor and Kontakt2

PMI Emperor and Kontakt2

Hi all, I'm a complete newbie here, and I'm trying to get PMI Emperor to work with Kontakt2.2 - I'm running it on my 2Ghz Macbook Pro with 2GB ram and the samples are stored on an external firewire drive, but unfortunately I cannot get the thing to play in real time, even if I turn of EMP Harmonics and Sus Resonance. I do however have Akoustik Piano working perfectly. Any ideas?

Re: PMI Emperor and Kontakt2

I'm on a PC with 2 gig of ram, and can play the full Emperor in K2, but my samples are on an internal drive.
    When you say Akoustik playes ok, are those samples on the same external drive?
    Have you checked Kontakt buffer size?

I've set the DFD memory to 263 MB, Output latency is 25ms and i set the sample rate to 48000Hz. Kontakt2 shows 0.82 GB for samples.

I can now at least play if I disable the K2 EMP Sus Resonance and Harmonics, but I'm hoping theres a config change I can make to have it perform 100% without disabling things.

I have both the Akoustik Samples and the PMI samples on the same external drive, which has over 10GB Free and also the internal HD has 9 Gb free. Maybe I need a new computer :0

I've got a very similar situation: a 2GHz iMac G5 with 2GB ram (single-core, pre-intel) with a 320BG Glyph external HD, now half full, where the samples are kept. It's impossible to play the Emperor or Old Lady in any but the most basic settings. Within seconds, the notes start blurring together and I must stop. Such a shame, because I love the sound of the Emperor especially. Some of the pianos that come with K2 also give me problems if there is convolution, including a lot of crackling. The Black Grand is O.K., as is the Gold XP Steinway B, but I haven't tried special effects or scripts with those.