• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Newbie

Share/Bookmark

Hi!

I'm new to this forum & other things as well - if there is a better forum for my questions, please let me know. Anyway, here goes...

I produce pre-recorded scores for musical productions. A group has to get permission from the copyright holder to use a pre-recorded score and then I can provide it.

I've been sequencing midi for about 15 years now. I started off with a kurzweil Mark 10 piano and then connected it to my computer with Cakewalk. I now have quite a few sound modules (roland, emu, yamaha, kurzweil) hooked into my mixer.

I think I can get better and more realistic sounds going with software samplers. Any opinions on where to start? Can software samplers work together with sound modules from a common sequencer?

There's no hurry on this - I'm gathering info

Thanks!

Re: Newbie

Orchestral? Budget?

Hello, verneaux, you definitely need to listen to Randy's musical accompaniments in the listening room. http://www.northernsounds.com/forum/...ad.php?t=54826 and many more examples. All done with Sonar and sample libraries I believe.
    Vista / Sonar Home Studio 6 / GPO 2d edition / Melodyne Uno 1.8

Hi, Verneaux

Quote Originally Posted by verneaux
    I produce pre-recorded scores for musical productions. A group has to get permission from the copyright holder to use a pre-recorded score and then I can provide it.
    Under some very specific circumstances, I've also provided "virtual orchestra" recordings for theatre groups. But the quote from you I've pulled out is the first and foremost crux of the situation.

There actually is no sanction given for what you're talking about. Many musicians across the country routinely make recordings for community theatre musical productions, but they are actually infringing on copyright, and could get into serious trouble doing so.