• Register
  • Help

Topic: Oud, Duduk, and Percussion demo

Share/Bookmark

Oud, Duduk, and Percussion demo

This is a piece featuring oud and duduk. I was trying for a mideastern vibe.

Grouduk

Please give it a listen and let me know your take on it.

Marko

Re: Oud, Duduk, and Percussion demo

I like it. Before the entry of the oud - its sounds more jazz-cross-over (ala Alice Coltrane - Pharoah Sanders) rather than "authentic" arabic to me. I'm no expert at all in this music, but for a rough impression, it sounds like a more western use of arabic textures. Not at all cheesy, but not really aiming to be totally authentic either. The relative simplicity of the rhythm suggests a dance sequence to me. Cool sounds!

Quote Originally Posted by Gesticulator01
    I like it. Before the entry of the oud - its sounds more jazz-cross-over (ala Alice Coltrane - Pharoah Sanders) rather than "authentic" arabic to me. I'm no expert at all in this music, but for a rough impression, it sounds like a more western use of arabic textures. Not at all cheesy, but not really aiming to be totally authentic either. The relative simplicity of the rhythm suggests a dance sequence to me. Cool sounds!
    And though many people mistakenly use it as such, the Duduk is about as Middle Eastern as the pan flute.

The Duduk is in fact Armenian.

Having said that, I really liked the piece! Very fresh and interesting. Well done!
    "International Award Winning Arabic Fusion"
    www.ajmusiconline.com

2xMac Pro 2.66, OS 10.4.9,Pro Tools 7.4.8,Waves Plat,Altiverb
    4xVisionDaw PC,NI Komplete, All Play 1.2.5 Libraries

howdy marko,

i really enjoyed your demo, loved these small finger details on the right channel. which libraries did you use?

peace

Hello Marko,

As always; tight, complete, professional and unique. A treat to hear from you. You simply have got the talent and skill. Another refreshing post!

Best,
    tony h
    tony h