• Register
  • Help

Topic: Finale with EWQLSO

Share/Bookmark

Finale with EWQLSO

Like I said before Im new to the world of sample libraries and DAWs and such, and as such I don't know much about them and how to connect 2 programs, etc. So here is what I want to do, and I want to know if it will be possible.

1. Use MIDI keyboard to record a song using EWQL onto my DAW software and have what I play notated in Finale. (for now it is easier for me to create music by just playing it since I have not had experience with it)

2. Just play notes on my keyboard and have them notated in Finale

3. And when I get experienced enough I want to be able to notate a song in finale and have it play using the sounds from EWQLSO.

Just wanted to make sure before I spent all the money on these programs just to find out that they won't do what I want them to do.

Thanks,
    Garrett

Re: Finale with EWQLSO

Oh and by the way any suggestions on the best DAW software to buy?
    I will mostly be using sample libraries like EWQL Platinum and will be doing some audio work (guitar, sax) and have done research but i thought it would be best to ask those who have experience.

Thanks,
    Garrett

Hi Garrett,

All three scenarios you have described are possible and relatively easy to accomplish. Scenario one will involve recording into the DAW, a process called quantization, and then exporting-importing a midi file. Finale was designed for scenarios two and three.

As for the DAW, give us the lowdown on your equipment and we'll be better able to assist. Mac? PC? Specs on the system? Your budget?

Quote Originally Posted by Reegs
    Finale was designed for scenarios two and three.

As for the DAW, give us the lowdown on your equipment and we'll be better able to assist. Mac? PC? Specs on the system? Your budget?
    Thanks Reegs

See I knew that I could do #3 but I had heard somewhere that Finale would only be compatible with some libraries and not others.

As for my computer: