• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Game Music

Share/Bookmark

Game Music

Nobuo Uematsu is a bloody genius. I first heard this tune sixteen years ago and it hasn't left my head since. I've transcribed it by ear twice but it still completely mystifies me...

This is the "original" tune (actually my first transcription with square waves from a real gameboy)
    http://www.suspenlute.com/stuff/SAGAWRLD.XM.mp3

This is my first try at it with GPO: Harpsichord, Violin, Viola, and Cello.
    http://www.suspenlute.com/01/Chris%20Plor%e1n%20-%20Overworld%20(Nobuo%20Uematsu).mp3

This is a different rendering using SIR reverb in response to some comments below.
    http://www.suspenlute.com/01/Chris%2...Uematsu%29.mp3

Comments on production are very welcome, as I'm going to have serious trouble using this software for work and worship if all the instruments continually sound like they're playing in a phone booth.

-Chris
    There is the music of Johann Sebastian Bach. Therefore there must be a God. You either get this one or you don't - Kreeft & Tacelli
    The will to achieve is not sufficient. Some things should not be achieved. - Rimsky-Korsakov
    Musicians are just these guys that want to make music. Okay, they want to have a wonderful lifestyle, but the majority just want to make really great music. - Jon Anderson

Re: Game Music

It's a nifty little ditty. I actually think the reverb sounds okay,

BUT

if you think it should be more dry ...

... take a look at this EXCELLENT tutorial!

http://garritan.info/index.php/Adjus...ience_in_Sonar
    Vista / Sonar Home Studio 6 / GPO 2d edition / Melodyne Uno 1.8

diligamus - I modified the mix slightly. How about now?
    The problem I keep having is that the more wet output there is, the more muffled the sound is, whereas the more dry output there is, the more unrealistic the sound is. Whatever it is I'm doing wrong, there's really nothing positive there, it's just a trade between two evils.

-Chris