• Register
  • Help

Topic: Composer wanted (paying gigs)

Share/Bookmark

Composer wanted (paying gigs)

Some of you know that although I'm moonlighting as a composer, my day job is actually as art director for video games. Anyway, since I'm a senior manager, I can easily recommend composers to the various producers in the company. So, all of you who are looking for composing gigs in the game industry, send me your links/resumes/portfolios...etc (luna@ethereality.info).

I do ask that you're experienced and really know what you're doing instead of someone that's still trying to figure it out. Although I do believe in giving new blood a chance (I'm a new blood too, afterall), I do feel that new blood should gain some experience scoring small indy games or MODS first, before approaching established game companies. (This is what I'm doing for my own composing career.)

So, there is a game ATM that needs a composer--it's an I-Spy styled game for the casual market, and it's a romantic comedy with some suspense. I'm most likely going to be directing the composer on this game (we don't have a dedicated audio director in the company). I'd like the composer to be well-versed in orchestral, jazz fusion, and pop. I did put together some temp tracks (don't roll your eyes. When you work as a director, you'd do the same) and they are pretty close to the styles I'd want for the game, but if you come up with something that's different but brilliant, I'm all ears.

Also, this gig includes sound effects as well--nothing out of this world, just animal sounds, ambient animation sounds...etc.