• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Jazz and such

Share/Bookmark

Jazz and such

Both of these pieces were composed with Sibelius and JABB. The first is my 2nd attempt at composing a Jazz piece and is to be played as the first piece of the last set in a intimate jazz setting. Hence, Quarter after One. It is supposed to sound like an impromptu improv.
    It is composed for
    1 flute, 1 trumpet with a cup mute, 1 trombone w/cup mute,piano, bass, and drums.

I have finally added some vibrato to the winds and added drums to the second half, plus a touch more reverb.
    Here it is:
    http://www.box.net/shared/jtjh41pxxc

This piece has more of a classical twist to it. I envision this as a 4-5 movement piece incorporating some of these themes. I have already began the 2nd movement for this one.
    2 flutes and 2 clarinets

Here it is:
    http://www.box.net/shared/vap9za30fs

Any and all comments are appreciated. I am still learning how to use JABB and hope these sound okay.
    Last edited by rolifer; 08-22-2007 at 11:17 PM. Reason: Add drums and vibrato to "Quarter after One"

Re: Jazz and such

Quote Originally Posted by rolifer
    Both of these pieces were composed with Sibelius and JABB. The first is my 2nd attempt at composing a Jazz piece and is to be played as the first piece of the last set in a intimate jazz setting. Hence, Quarter after One. It is supposed to sound like an impromptu improv.
    It is composed for
    1 flute, 1 trumpet with a cup mute, 1 trombone w/cup mute,piano, bass, and drums.
    Here it is:
    http://www.box.net/shared/jtjh41pxxc

This piece has more of a classical twist to it. I envision this as a 4-5 movement piece incorporating some of these themes. I have already began the 2nd movement for this one.
    2 flutes and 2 clarinets

Here it is:
    http://www.box.net/shared/vap9za30fs

Any and all comments are appreciated. I am still learning how to use JABB and hope these sound okay.