• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 5 1234 ... LastLast

Topic: Soap Box Time: Is this Music?

Share/Bookmark

Unhappy Soap Box Time: Is this Music?

This issue has been bugging me forever and it has recently reared it's head again. I was just hired by a company to do 3D design and multimedia. I have written music for a variety of projects over the years. Now when I use the word written I mean I play the notes on a keyboard and on a guitar. I am holding the instruments and, although I am not the most musically scholared dude on the planet, I can tell you what notes I am playing. I use Cubase and play each piece in line by line building a song from the ground up. The only loops I use are Stylus RMX for some funky rhthyms. I am a drummer by trade so I don't really consider this cheating.

One of the senior creative directors here mentioned he wrote music as well. Ah competition? He asked me to visit Myspace to check out his "soundtrack like" compostitions. I asked him what tools he used and he mentioned Acid, Garageband, Reason and Absynth. I listened and thought that some of it was good but it really sounded like a bunch of loops pasted together. I asked how he input his notes and he mentioned one note at a time using the virtual keyboard. I assume he cannot play a keyboard.

I am not a purest but have always had a hard time with this type of composing. Is this musicianship? Being honest with myself I feel that I am threatened by this type of composition. I have spent countless hours learning to play drums, guitar and keyboards. Now someone can paste a few loops together and call themselves a composer?