• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Topic: Concert and Marching band trouble

Share/Bookmark

Concert and Marching band trouble

Hello all,
    I'm using Sonar 6, and I'm trying to apply my garritan sounds from the marching band library to my midi file...no such luck! I tried following the tutorial on using GPO, but it didn't work.
    Any ideas?
    Thanks!
    Rob

Re: Concert and Marching band trouble

I'm no expert but if you are able to create a NEW file with Garritan sounds then I would suggest that it's the MIDI coding on your old files that may be the culprit. The Garritan programs do handle some things differently like the Mod Wheel (for expression and volume variation) and the sustain pedal (for legato). This is what I would try (no guarantees!) to convert an old MIDI line:

1a. Load one instance of Kontakt Player 2 into your project's "synth rack."
    1b. You can click the upper left corner of KP2 to enable it as a "tabbed" window.
    1c. Make a note of what controllers are used in the old line.
    2. Wipe the Mod Wheel and Sustain pedal controllers from the old line (if any).
    3. Load your new Garritan sound for this line into KP2.
    4. In Sonar, go into the I/O tab and select the MIDI input method (your input config), then which Kontakt Player to use (probably the only one listed at this point), then which MIDI channel to use (it must agree with the channel set in the Kontakt Player for this sound).
    5. In Track View play the file. If there is still no sound try varying the Mod Wheel. If there is still no sound get back to the Kontakt Player, click the "gear button" in the upper left hand corner of the sound you are setting up, then check the "accept standard controllers for Volume and Pan" box. This is what will tie Sonar sliders and Pan controls to the Kontakt player. Some people see this as a big pain in the *$$, others seem to like it. See elsewhere on this board for rants and raves.