• Register
  • Help

Topic: Newbie calling for guidance

Talking Newbie calling for guidance

Hi, I'm new to this specific forum so I'd just like to say...., well, hello

I'm just another guy with a notation program and could use some guidance perhaps. No professional training here, just books and such. Been musically avtive for a meare two years or so.

I'm using Finale 2007 with GPO 2.0. to create my music (mostly classical styled). My question being is there anything newer on the market (meaning samlings or such)?

Re: Newbie calling for guidance

Welcome to the boards! You will find amazingly helpful, kind, and professional people here.

I use Finale 2008 and the full GPO2 (are you using Finale's GPO or the separate full version of GPO?). Now I have added Garritan's Concert and Marching band which expands my instrument sample pool amazingly with woodwind sections (including saxes), and horn sections (including baritone/euphonium), as well as many new percussion instruments.

I was new to Virtual Studio Technology when I bought GPO and it has been, and continues to be, an amazing education.

Best of luck,
    Reber Clark
    In theory there is no difference between theory and practice, but in practice there is.

http://reberclark.blogspot.com http://reberclark.bandcamp.com http://www.youtube.com/reberclark

Felixissimo, welcome and never give up. This is an amazing forum. The GPO libs are great and we all had our psychiatric consults in the past. In the States they have the AAA, Dr.Phil, Oprah, is Jerry Springer still around?, Anthony Robbins, and others.

We all consulted them for guidance, but no one could give us just "that advice". So we struggled along and became experienced users of our own on all sides of the ocean (incl. north and south).