• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Topic: Best Orchestral Library??

Best Orchestral Library??

Hello All
    Im very new to this stuff so I have a very basic question...
    What is considered the best Orchestral sound library?
    Thanks Much!

Re: Best Orchestral Library??

This is an amazing opportunity for a war between members! And flames and stuff! (not that much happen really).
    Unless you can provide a bit more info or reason for your question, I don't see much reason to answer.

What budget?
    What style?

And then I'll be back!

If you look through previous posts on this forum, I think you will quickly get a good view on which orchestral libraries are out there, and what strengths and weaknesses each one has. Keep an eye out for threads such as "Best Brass Library" and so on, there have been many of those threads in the past and each one usually contain some nice information, especially for someone who is just starting out.

There's simply no "Best" orchestral library. There are 3 big ones: SoniVox Symphonic Collection, East West Quantum Leap Symphonic Orchestra XP Pro (Platinum and Gold versions, since Silver is a lite version, in other league), and Vienna Instruments Collection.

EWQL Gold + Pro XP is now on a big sale, so it's a very good option. It has been recorded with reverb in the Benaroya Hall of Seattle. It has a big orchestral sound, ideal for bigger than life scores.

SoniVox: in my opinion it's quite expensive. It's now in Giga and K2 format. It has a VERY NICE tone but it lacks the advanced performance possibilities of Vienna Instruments. It's been recorded in the Sonic Temple, and the string section seems to be more intimate (smaller) than EWQL's.

Vienna Instruments have been recorded in a custom studio the company built for that purpose. Recordings are almost dry (not anechoic, but with very little ambience) so you have lots of control over it, ideal for using with a high quality convolution reverb.