• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Topic: Mafia Reloaded

Share/Bookmark

Mafia Reloaded

Hi,

I am new to the forum and thought I'd go ahead and post a piece for some feedback. This piece is called "Mafia Reloaded" and was inspired by the waltz from the Godfather. All the sounds are from GPO and I used Sibelius to compose it and play it.

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/song...songID=5762280

Please, let me know what you like with it or what you think could be improved. (Both with the composition itself and the performance).

Thanks,
    Lydia

Re: Mafia Reloaded

Nice orchestration. Lots of variety. Toward the middle there's a section with, I think, flutes and strings that seemed a little "thin" to me. Hmmm. Not sure how to describe it. Maybe it needs a little fill in the middle voices. But don't take my word for it. I'm a total newbie to composing. Overall, I thought it was very good. Keep up the good work.

--gary shannon

Thanks Gary! I think I know what part you mean.

I played this piece for a friend a couple of days ago and he suggested adding accordion. I don't have any good accordion samples, so I don't think I want to do that, but I could always add some more woodwinds at that point - or brass. Right now it is only strings and woodwinds.

Thank you,
    Lydia

A warm welcome to the forum, Lydia!

This is quite a strong introduction of your work, most certainly.
    Able orchestration, well composed, evocative and on the mark
    for your subject matter -- this is good writing and good rendering
    that would find itself quite comfortable in film or overture.

Keep it coming!

Best,

David
    www.DavidSosnowski.com

Thank you David. That is very encouraging.

~ Lydia

Thumbs up Re: Mafia Reloaded

Do people ever criticize music titles on this forum? I guess they do now. Lydia, i love your work here it is absolutely gorgeous, i'll listen to it many times.