• Register
  • Help

Topic: For your consideration - Symphony No. 1 Second Movement

For your consideration - Symphony No. 1 Second Movement

Done entirely with GPO and Overture 4 - I'm definitely getting better at using Overture :-)

Hope you enjoy.

Shelton, Washington State

Re: For your consideration - Symphony No. 1 Second Movement

I basically liked this movement with it's slow, flowing feel.

I think it could use some work on the string sections in places as they sound more like a keyboard playing string sounds. I have no experience with notation software so I don't know what the answer is but I think it would really make a difference. Maybe some legato.

Is there a keyboard or harp in the mix? A lot of times there is such a strong accent on the downbeat that it sounds almost percussive. I'll leave rendering issues to others, as I have little knowledge, myself; I would just say that varying the attacks might help.

Now to the good part: you have some real solid ideas here, and you handle the flow and build very well. Your harmonic language is very clear, and very expressive. I liked this a lot!
    Ron Pearl

Ron, there is a harp but it's gone by the time we get to the brass joining in. No percussion other than the timp and gong. Maybe what you're hearing is the doubled basses and cellos which are pretty insistent at times :-)

I think one problem is that I can only listen to it on headphones - I don't have a decent speaker based sound system and the family would be up in arms if I did! *sigh* they're rapper and 60's pop fans...

Thanks for the kind words :-)

Hi, Rob

I just now had an enjoyable time listening to your somber, rather majestic movement. Astounded, as I often am, by the amount of work this must have been, using Overture for your input program.