• Register
  • Help

Topic: The newer generation of computers

Share/Bookmark

The newer generation of computers

As virtual instruments become the mainstay of my arsenal, my P4 2.4 is no longer powerful enough to do what I need it to do. I do have a seperate machine for orchestra samples , choir etc. but my sequencing machine with cubase chokes more often than it used to.
    I have been using a Dell machine since late 2003 and though many of you may chuckle at my choice, it has been rock solid over the years. Because of my positive experience and price/performance factor, I am highly considering another Dell. My question to you is: Duo core vs Quad core, if they both have the same amount of RAM will there be really double the benefit (performance)? At this point I realise I probably will have to buy XP to replace Vista (or have a dual boot system) but it's my thinking that more RAM is probably more important than the CPU choices above. Will a Quad core have excessive fan noise? If I do get XP , should I go 64 bit?
    I look forward to your suggestions.

Re: The newer generation of computers

Great question and one that I asked over at the Sound On Sound PC forum:

http://www.soundonsound.com/forum/sh...b=5&o=&fpart=7

Scroll down to to where I posted the same question and you will see Martin Walkers reply (he's the PC Music writer for SOS and the forum moderator).

And I don't think you can build a dual boot Vista and XP puter, but I may be wrong.

I am going to build a new puter soon and will definitely use a Quad core - the price difference is negligable for a 30% + hike in performance. I will also use sound damping material in the PC from Quiet PC which helped a lot on my P4 2.4 machine I have now.

Check out the same question I asked at the bottom of the page and the reply I got from Martin Walker, the PC Music writer for SOS magazine:

http://www.soundonsound.com/forum/sh...b=5&o=&fpart=7