• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Marimba Solo

Share/Bookmark

Marimba Solo

Hello everyone, this is my first time here, so here goes my first post.

I've written a marimba solo, "Walks," that caused someone to recommend me to this site. Mainly because I always complained about never getting comments . I can already tell by looking at other threads that comments aren't a problem.

As I said, this is a marimba solo I wrote that is very playable, but has a couple sticky spots that could be mastered with just a little patience (at least that's the way it was for me.)

Feel free to listen to my other songs on this page and to comment on them either here or on my message board. Thanks!

Here's the direct link to the song. Thanks Alan for suggesting it.
    lo-fi URL: http://www.soundclick.com/util/getpl...d=5777871&q=lo
    hi-fi URL: http://www.soundclick.com/util/getpl...d=5777871&q=hi

And here's the link to my soundclick page.
    www.soundclick.com/michaelobermeyer

Re: Marimba Solo

Hi Michael,

Congratulations on your first post.

I know nothing about this instrument - I have seen it played once or twice in bands and wondered how someone could do that. You have written that this piece is playable, which I find astounding, knowing nothing about the instrument. Clearly some serious skill here!

I very much enjoyed the rhythms in this. Some of the dynamics I thought were a bit too extreme - either two quiet, or too suddenly louder.

But a lovely piece, and very well produced as well.

One thing I would be interested to see with this is some development with perhaps two marimbas (marimbae?) offset and counterpointing each other. But I really enjoyed it!

Thanks for sharing.

I am sure people would find it a little helpful if you could post a direct link.

Alan

Michael,

Welcome to Garritan.