• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: A Whiter Shade - String Quartet

Share/Bookmark

A Whiter Shade - String Quartet

Hi Folks,

This is my second post. I created this using Reason 2.5 with the GPO Lite Refill. It is loosely based on the Procol Harum song "A Whiter Shade of Pale". That song was loosely based on Bach's "Air on a G String" and "Sleeper's Awake". This is my first attempt at a small ensemble piece. Thanks for listening!
    John Dickason.

Re: A Whiter Shade - String Quartet

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/page...?bandID=751039

Sorry Guys. See the link above. Thanks.
    John Dickason.

Hi John,

Love the sound and the harmonies and rhythms with this - I just found I wished for the the lead-in to have more legato - more connection between the notes. This is more evident in the viola (or is it a cello playing high?), but that too could have done with a bit as well.

Still, it is a wonderful piece and your interpretation has lots of interest and is a pleasure to listen to.

Thank you for sharing.

This is a very beautiful song that I really love. It sounds very good as a string quartet, I'm surprised. I agree with Alan, it needs some variation in articulation. Using the legato feature with notes slightly overlapping creates lovely legato passages on the GPO solo strings.

I really like your interpretation of this song. Thank you.
    Kind Regards

Louis Dekker
    My Music Site

Pour être grand, il faut avoir été petit.

Hi, Saxmeister

I also count myself among the huge group who loves this song. Really good choice of material for this intimate string quartet version you've worked on.

There's a gently melancholic effect your rendition has that I really enjoy.