• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: My First Try At Composing

My First Try At Composing

Hi All,

I'm new to composing and to this forum. I consider my self a novice, having had only three years of junior high school band (alto/tenor sax), and a few years of rock-n-roll bass guitar (and all of that was more than 20 years ago!). Lately, though, I've found that I have a lot of music running through my head and an urgent desire to write it all down.

I posted my first piece (a short woodwind trio) on SoundClick at

I couldn't find a way to upload the score here (in case anyone prefers to read along as they listen), but you can get it from another forum on which I have posted it if you would like to see it:

I'm interested in what some more experienced composers have to say about it. Any advice/encouragement for improving it?

Thanks in advance!
    Best Regards,

Re: My First Try At Composing

Welcome to this listening room. I liked your first post very much. I particularly liked the melodic and rhythmic motifs. They are very effective and captivating. Your recording also sounds very nice and clear. The material you presented in this piece could easily be developed. Might I suggest perhaps some modulation away from the original key. This would make also the harmony more interesting.

Great job on a delightful little piece . Thank you.
    Kind Regards

Louis Dekker
    My Music Site

Pour être grand, il faut avoir été petit.

Good flute -clarinet antiphony. I feel like the bassoon is given a really boring part. It doesn't really match the skill tht is brought forth with the flute-clarinet. It's as if you don't trust the bassoon to play harder lines. Otherwise the overall aspect of it is great.
    Yours Truly,
    May the Fourth Be With You

My demos:

Hello Ernie "Lunker"

Welcome indeed to The Listening Room!

It's great that you've stepped right up to show us what you're doing.