• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Percussion Ensemble

Percussion Ensemble

Okay, if no one has noticed, I like writing things for percussion. This piece was originally written with Finale Printmusic 2007, but I converted it to Finale 2008 w/ GPO. It sounds rough mainly do to reverb and balance issues which I plan to work out, but I would love tips on how to fix this as I am still new to the software.
    So, the song is called "The Chaser and the Chased" and it is probably the first full song I've managed to keep upbeat the entire time. The logistics of playing this song live are as follows:
    Difficult Marimba I part
    Other parts are moderately difficult, but are repetitve or use the same techniques, mallets, etc...
    Keeping this song together is easily the most difficult part.

Hope you can understand it through the reverb! If it is too messy, you can check out the non-GPO version to get an idea of the ideal reverb I'm looking for. I don't want anything to dry, because it will sound weak as it is only a 9-person ensemble, but because it has so much motion, it can't be too reverby or it will sound mfshwah...

lo-fi URL: http://www.soundclick.com/util/getpl...d=5832948&q=lo
    hi-fi URL: http://www.soundclick.com/util/getpl...d=5832948&q=hi

Re: Percussion Ensemble

I closed my eyes, sat back in my chair, and pictured myself in the Lazarra Auditorium here at UNF, listening to the UNF percussion ensemble. Very realistic sounding reverb. Excellent balance, excellent dynamics, nuance, rhythms, and melodies. Just overall brilliant work. The fake-you-out ending was funny.
    Yours Truly,
    May the Fourth Be With You

My demos:

Thanks, I guess that's one way of looking at it. If the idea is to make it sound as real as possible, then a live performance in an auditorium is about as real as it gets.

BTW. Welcome to the Garritan forum. We're all friend's here so enjoy the love!!! Lol. Hope to hear more from you soon.
    Yours Truly,