• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Topic: A walz for orchester

A walz for orchester (Now with new version!)

Hi everyone, I have made this arr from a piano waltz I made a few weeks ago. I'm a beginner in orchester arr, so any advice or other opinions are welcome!

I have tried to incorporate some of your good advice.

Best regards, Jonte

Bellingham, WA

Re: A walz for orchester

This is a diamond in the rough. It has real possibilities but as it is, I would suggest a few adjustments:
    The overall effect is a little heavy handed, unless you're thinking of naming it "Waltz Macabre." Waltzes are usually a little brighter but that is a personal matter.
    If this is truly your first attempt at orchestration, it shows a real instrumental sense but look up "pointilism" and you might want to rethink some of your scoring.

BTW: Is your title, "A walz for orchester," for real?

Very nice piece! I loved the variety in instrumentation that you used.

If I may offer one small suggestion: The off-beat chords in the strings sound somewhat muddy, and drag a little. One solution might be to increase the tempo of the whole piece - try 120 beats per minute instead. Another idea: Make the strings have shorter bows to give it more bounce. You might also try varying the rhythm a little through the piece e.g. put some 8th notes (quavers) in the chord patterns.

Apart from that, I enjoyed this very much. Well done!

Penfield (Rochester), NY

Good first effort. How did you produce this? With notation software? Some of the entrances are a little abrupt and over powering at times. This detracts from the overlying theme instead of enhancing it. With practice it will get better as you gain the experience end feel for that works best in your music.

Thanks everyone for your comments! I will try some of them. It's made in Sibelius and the working titel is just Valse.

Dallas, TX

Thumbs up Re: A walz for orchester

Very nice arrangement, Jonte!