• Register
  • Help

Topic: Live Ivory commentary + live rig questions

Live Ivory commentary + live rig questions

Hello all,

I know that Ivory has been around a while, and that this forum contains a lot of opinions about its use, so I hope no one will mind yet another I've been kicking around the idea of going software onstage for a few years now, and now that I've finally done so I though it might be helpful to someone to hear how things have gone for me.

I've been playing live for many years, and have always used simple setup with a dedicated stage piano and internal sounds (no extra bits, just me, my board, my stand/amp, and some cables). I generally play in rock/praise groups. I rarely sequence anything, rather I'm more interested in just live piano. I find myself drawn to darker, mellower piano sounds with character, and generally prefer use the darkest settings I can get away with and still cut a mix.

I recently finally put together enough gear to try software piano in a live setting, and I decided to purchased Ivory for that purpose. Ivory sounded pretty fantastic at home - I have some gripes but overall it has the richest character and authenticity of any digital piano I've ever played. I play the Steinway exclusively (not to be trendy, but it's really just my taste - I love the sound of a good Steinway).

I took Ivory to band rehearsal, and it was aweful. Many people on this forum have said it's more of a recordable piano and performs poorly in a live band, and even though I'm not afraid of a darker piano, I figured after that rehearsal that it was just not going to work out. I had to finish rehearsal using internal sounds on my friends controller.