• Register
  • Help

Topic: understanding GS3 stacking instrument with VSL

understanding GS3 stacking instrument with VSL

i'm not a gigastudio 3 user, i own kontakt2 and years ago i used the old gigastudio 1 with its editor, so more or less i remember something about giga-concept...

a composer i recently knew has gigastudio3 and vienna symphonic library (the "old" edition without the vienna player...now he cannot afford buying the update), and he asked me some hints about the using of sampler, midi programming and so on.
    since i have a lot of experience with hard disk recording, sampler, midi orchestration (i have garritan personal orchestra), i can quickly learn new programs, and he is not so expert in computer stuff (but he writes good music for third parties...and wants to learn how to reproduce it at best with the PC!) he asked me to help him in learning giga and VSL in his studio.

i suppose the main problem to solve with VSL is to learn to use a LOT of different articulations, and being albe to access them very easily.

i just saw here the possibility about stacking several instruments in GS3... is it the correct way to proceed?
    my main question is: is really "easy" to set-up such a patch? and, most important, will you have to save a separate ".gig" file each time you build some a stacked instrument? or is it simply a matter of selecting (let's say) 10 gig files with several articulations and then you can access them via keyswitches "on the fly" without having to save anything?

sorry if i was not clear... i'd just like to have some clear ideas to tell him when we will meet again next time...

most important: is stacking instruments a new version in some recent upgrade (i think he has giga3 "out of the box"...but i suggested him to upgrade) and is it well documented in the manual?

St. John's NL

Re: understanding GS3 stacking instrument with VSL

Hey Bosone,