• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: solo versus multiple instruments

Question solo versus multiple instruments

hi everyone
    let´s see i am going to use 2 flutes in an orchestracion. do i have to have 2 staves for each flute - or can i put them both on one staff? if one staff is OK, when i want only one flute to play, do i use the term 'solo'? and when both are playing, (in finale), do i put them in different layers?
    thanks to all of you for your advice and suggestions

Re: solo versus multiple instruments

I'm new to GPO so my advice might not be the best, but what I've discovered is that using two staffs is better. Assign one flute player (not solo) to each staff. The solo instruments play in a different style and don't fit well with orchestra.

If your flute staff has chords, split the notes between the two staffs and it will sound much better. Otherwise you have two flutes playing the single notes, then when the two-note chords are played it sounds like four flutes all of the sudden, two flutes playing each note of the chord. That doesn't sound quite right.

Others here may have better advice, but this works for me.

--gary shannon
    --gary shannon
    Spooks! - The Movie

The convention for the conductor's score is to place them both on the same staff, especially if they move in parallel or don't cross, though I have seen a few exceptions.

If they do frequently cross ranges or have wildly different rhythms (both of which are relatively rare), then it is at your discretion to place them on separate staves (for clarity's sake).

When both are to play a single line, precede that passage with "a 2". When you wish either one to play alone, indicate that with Roman numerals: "I." for player one alone, "II." for player two alone, etc.