• Register
  • Help

Topic: Should I pick Cubase or Cubase Studio?

Should I pick Cubase or Cubase Studio?

I'm about to crossgrade to Cubase from Logic.
    I'm wondering if Cubase Studio will be enough for me?

I have seen a list of the differences between Studio vs. the full version, and the only thing I'm worried about will be a problem is the 32 VSTi limit in Studio compared to the full version's 64 VSTi. However, as I use Kontakt, I'm thinking that perhaps 32 VSTi spots will do just fine, as I can just create i.e. a single bank for 1st Violins and so on, and then switch between the 1st Violin articulations on the fly, thus using only one VSTi-spot pr. instrument.

What would you pick if you were in my shoes - Cubase or Cubase Studio?

The money I save if I choose Studio I will happily spend on the Sonivox Harp, thus completing my Sonivox orchestral library.

Re: Should I pick Cubase or Cubase Studio?

I've been using the Cubase 'light' version for a few years now (starting from SL and now Studio). Unless you do surround stuff and other full version-only work a lot, I'd definetely suggest starting with Studio. I do believe that you can upgrade anyway for the price difference between the two versions.

Considering the VSTi stuff - I think you'll find that you run out of CPU before you run out of VSTi places anyway, and like you say: you can use multichannel VSTi like Kontakt so you basically could do an entire song just by using one VSTi slot, receiving input from multiple midi channels and channelling the output to several different audio out channels.

There is the matter of some Cubase only plug ins and synths, but you could just as well buy a nice compressor and reverb from another company for the price difference and keep some flexibility.