• Register
  • Help

Topic: Concert Pitch and Transposing Instruments

Share/Bookmark

Concert Pitch and Transposing Instruments

Hello everyone,

I have been struggling with this for a while, so I'm turning to the best place I know of to get some information and clarification.

My background is in Rock and as a bass player, so I have very little knowledge of other instruments. I initially stumbled with the concept of transposing instruments. I did grasp that if something was a Bb instrument, the score would indicate a C to get that Bb sound. But the practical implications are still hanging me up.

I have GPO and JABB, and wanted to try some experimentation with various woodwinds and brass. I found some sample scores on the Lush Life music site (this is a Jazz site with fantastic transcriptions). As an example, there is a transcription of Glen Miller's (actually written by Harry Warren) "I Know Why".

(http://www.lushlifemusic.com/arrange...w_why_inst.pdf)

I chose this because it has a Clarinet (Bb), and Alto Sax (Eb) and Tenor Sax (also Bb). In other words, enough to confuse me.

On the Wikipedia site, it says that a Bb Clarinet sounds a major 2nd lower, an Alto Sax a major 6th lower, and the Tenor Sax a major 9th lower than the written pitch.

In this example song, the Key signature for the Clarinet is C, the Alto Sax is G, and the Tenor Sax is C.

My MIDI keyboard has the ability to detune by semitones. So if I tune it a (-1) and hit middle C, it is really playing B.

So I got the bright idea that to play the JABB Bb Clarinet, I could tune the keyboard down (-2 semitones) so that when I hit a C it would play a Bb. Then, all I would have to do is just play what I see in the score without having to worry about transposing the part.