• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: How hard to play Wallander Instruments?

Share/Bookmark

How hard to play Wallander Instruments?

Hi,
    I'm quite interested in Wallander instruments after hearing some demos. But I'm wondering, how hard will it be to play the instruments without a breath-controller or wind controller (using only keyboard and a slider for the breath data)?
    I'm looking for terrific sounding instruments without wasting time too much to tweak the parameters (i know that Wallander instruments do have so many parameters)

And how hard will it be if, someday, I'll buy a breath controller and use it for wallander instruments (i have no experiences in wind/brass instruments)?

Maybe some users that already have wallander instruments could share their story of learning the wallander instruments?
    thanks

Re: How hard to play Wallander Instruments?

Quote Originally Posted by hendyb
    And how hard will it be if, someday, I'll buy a breath controller and use it for wallander instruments (i have no experiences in wind/brass instruments)?
    I think you may be confusing a breath controller with a wind controller. A wind controller is indeed played like a wind instrument but a breath controller is basically just an input device which converts air pressure to controller data, the actual playing is still done with the keyboard.

If your keyboard doesn’t have a breath controller input you will need a breath-to-Midi converter like this:

www.midisolutions.com/prodbth.htm

and of course the breath controller itself, like the Yamaha BC3.

/Yoss

Incase you dont know, you can treat WIVI instruments just like "mod wheel blend" patches from traditional sample libraries. All "breath" data can be controlled via any midi CC you wish, including mod wheel. So you dont NEED a breath controller to get great sounding results with WIVI.