• Register
  • Help

Topic: Mastering Help

Share/Bookmark

Mastering Help

Hi, everyone.

I'm really new to using a DAW and I'm using Cubase SE and Garritan 2.0 version 1.1.8.003 and my system is a 2.0 gig AMD processor with 2 gigabytes of RAM installed. I want to find a basic solution for mastering while I play and record.

Currently, my sounds are coming out too loud and distorted when I play sounds in a section, like for instance a section of 6 violins. This especially happens when I play a loud passage.

Should I have mastering in place to keep my volume levels down, or should I control it through the keyboard while playing and then filter out the high volumes later during the final mastering? What should I do?

Thanks!

Re: Mastering Help

Hi, TyPh1 - Thanks for coming here for some help. Let me get started at least:

There are so many things in your short post which indicate that you don't understand some basics, that it's hard to know where to begin.

You're inexperienced, a "newbie" - and that's what everyone is at first. As such, a thorough read through of your manuals is first needed.

"Mastering" isn't something you do while you play and record. Mastering is the very final step, after you've done a mix-down, usually done in software dedicated to only audio editing, like Sound Forge.

People however Do what comes close to "mastering" in programs like Cubase. - But I think you're referring to a plugin you might have called "Mastering--" etc. whatever it says, there are a number of plugins that are sometimes called mastering plugins because they are EQs, Compressors, Limiters - they do the sort of thing engineers do with a full 2 track stereo mix of an entire piece.

So--first off, forget about the "mastering" for now.