• Register
  • Help

Topic: What's up with Animations being any different than Film?

Share/Bookmark

What's up with Animations being any different than Film?

A lot of animation people are expecting music and sound effects to be completed before the animation is locked... is this the right way to do it? I could understand that if you are doing a major production you probably start working during production in terms of recording and experimenting with sounds and maybe musical themes... but for a 3-10minute short animation?

Re: What's up with Animations being any different than Film?

With human actors, there is no such thing as perfect timing. Yet, with animation, there is the ability to time something to be perfectly on cue. Thus, animators tend to want the audio tracks to be done before they animate to them.

I'm a 3-D animator, and an amateur one at that. Yet, I can say, it is easier for me to animate to music than it is to compose music to an animation. Animating to the music allows me to pick the cues and visualize them on the stage properly. For example, if I wanted to time a set of particle emissions to a sequence in the music, I just load the music file into the animation program, pick out each portion of the sequence to start the next emission at, and set up the emitter. Doing it the other way around allows for errors and can cause the music to not match up to the animation as well as it could.
    Colton J. Provias
    Film Score Composer, Location Sound Mixer, and Sound Editor
    Full-stack Web Developer

Quote Originally Posted by C J Pro
    Yet, I can say, it is easier for me to animate to music than it is to compose music to an animation.
    What type of animation are you talking about?

If you are working on a series where there is a plot and story-line, the storyboard and voice-over would be far more important than any incidental music, and when dealing with animations stories, most of the music is incidental/background anyway.