• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Help choosing a sequencer

Canary Islands

Help choosing a sequencer

I'm trying to choose a sequencer i understand that sonar and cubase are two of the most popular ones, among many others, but still need advice and opinions. i'm a solo artist, will be using one midi device /sequencer/vst-plugins, also what is the main diffrence between sonar an cubase..

Re: Help choosing a sequencer

Quote Originally Posted by musicmad
    I'm trying to choose a sequencer i understand that sonar and cubase are two of the most popular ones, among many others, but still need advice and opinions. i'm a solo artist, will be using one midi device /sequencer/vst-plugins, also what is the main diffrence between sonar an cubase..

Ohhhh .. this may arouse a few passions.

I think the general answer to this one is that both Sonar and Cubase, in the main, have the same tools and will do the same job. I think one of the main differences is that Cubase uses a dongle protection system (USB key with authorisation that must be plugged into a USB slot when using) whereas Sonar uses a serial number and registration system.

It is mainly for this reason that I chose Sonar; I will have nothing to do with any software that uses dongles. Just my opinion and my choice.

Another stock-in-trade answer would be to try the demo versions of each to see which works best for you .. assuming there are demo versions of each; I haven't checked for a while. Will go over and check this out.

I would also suggest spending some time in the Cubase and Sonar forums. This often throws up some interesting things. The opinion I have formed is that Cakewalk (Sonar) have a better customer relationship than Steinberg. This in itself may not detract from the quality of the product and Cubase is good but all things being equal it might be an influence one way or another.