• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Slide on violin

Question Slide on violin

Hi there everyone!

I'm fairly new to GPO and I've been putting this piece of music together and I've run into problems as I'm trying to figure out how to program violin slides. I want a simple slide that goes from Bb down to the next F#, but I haven't been able to come up with a way to do this. I know its supposed to be a combination of CC#20 and CC#64 but everything I've tried sounds awfull (ie. no slide but just two notes playing together or the slide occurs but the Bb still plays on top of the F#).

Help me with this, please!!!

Thanks in advance,
    Lauri Hakanen/Finland

Re: Slide on violin

... no answer, but I had the same question in mind.

Chandler, Arizona

If your hearing 2 notes at the same time, then the sustain pedal mode is not set correctly. I can't remember off the top of my head what the mode is although it used to be the 2nd one down in the list in Kontakt 1.53. I haven't checked it's location in Kontakt 2.2.3 player.

I tried all the possible sustain combinations + fiddling with the settings but nothing seems to work.

Can someone help me, please.

I got the sustain not to sound the notes together but now I get a slight slide up at the beginning of each note. The line, though, is descending so the slides should be down, right? Any thoughts?

Now I got it working for an ascending slide, the slide is smooth, but the descending one sounds very ditached and jumpy at best. Any thoughts on this?

Thanks in advance,

I spent two hours to get it right. Pity, no success. The second note still has some attack while this wasn't the purpose. Please, you guys with all your inventive minds, please help us.

It sounds like you two are using a notation program, otherwise I'd just say "Use the pitch bend wheel".

Here is Help info about using pitch bend in Sibelius. Perhaps it will help you?

Pitch bend