• Register
  • Help

Topic: how to arrange pop-orchestration?

Share/Bookmark

how to arrange pop-orchestration?

Hello folks,
    i am looking for a good source for educating myself in orchestration.
    I know there are a lot of books out there dealing with this topic, but actually i don't want to spent 10 years studying profoundly the comprehensive amount of classical orchestration disciplin. I can imagine that this is an art of it's own and needs a lot of know how and experience and of course talent to be capable arranging those huge scores. But that's not my claim.

Basicly i am not an orchestra musician but a pop/rock musician and i would like to include this warm and organic sound of strings and brass here and there in my compositions. Just like in this common modern pop/rock music like from The Verve, Maroon5, Travis, etc, etc...Sometimes a gentle and intimate Cello here, and than, e.g. in the refrain, an opening and bright shining orchestra there...So my intention is more a kind of pop-orchestration than a traditional classic-orchestration.

I'm not shure if this limitation really prevents me from studying profoundly this whole orchestration thing anyway, but i hope to abbreviate a little the learning process. My idea is, that maybe there is a more standardized and narrower defined scope of arranging those pop-backing-orchestra as compared to the full range of classic orchestra arrangements. I'm searching for some basic rules, maybe some introducing tutorials, an expediant book, something like that...

Can you recommend something particular to me?

Thank you!
    Solari

Smile Re: how to arrange pop-orchestration?