• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Feedback on Track

Share/Bookmark

Feedback on Track

Hi All,
    I was hoping I cound get some feedback on this demo track I did for someone. It wasn't what he was looking for and he said it sounded too "keyboardish". Now I am assuming he means it's too synthetic sounding and not sounding like a real orchestra.

The track is called "The Intruder" and can be heard on my myspace page: http://www.myspace.com/scorewritermusicproductions

I've composed and arranged before, and have a good grasp of the usual music stuff: melody, harmony, orchestration, etc., but only have dealt with live instruments. So I'm fairly new to recording with samples, so any feedback on how to make my tracks sound more realistic would be appreciated.

Here's is what I used for this:
    Sonic Implants Strings (in Gigastudio 3.0 Orch)
    Oboe and Flute from GPO
    Cubase 4 on Intel Mac to record and produce
    -Used one of the included reverb and EQ plug-ins with Cubase

Thanks,
    Mike

Re: Feedback on Track

I agree. The legato strings sound a bit like a church organ. Dynamics seem to be what is missing most. Think of how the bow works on the strings swelling a bit as it gets closer to the center of the bow.

Also I'd make sure to not be playing chords but playing each individual string parts, 1 at a time.

The wwinds ... dynamics might also help there, A slight crescendo and then decrescendo across the length of the held note.

I think the main problem is the legato part.
    I'd first try separating the bass and cello by 1 more octave, or maybe use the GPO strings.
    From what I'm hearing the GPO samples should ~sound~ much more realistic.

The marcato strings on beats 2 and 3 ( or 3 and 5 depending ) are pretty good. Just a tad bright ( eq ) for my taste, and not as thick as I'd like.

Interesting moody piece ... all in all. I wish it was longer.