• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: First Orchestral Attempt - Space Theme

Red face First Orchestral Attempt - Space Theme

Hello. I'm new to orchestral composition, although I've been an amateur musician for a long time. Tonight I loaded up GPO and started banging out a tune. It's a space theme that might be included in an independent computer game, although I'm not too concerned about whether or not it ends up being included -- I'm just using it as an excuse to try to write something. :-)

Anyway, this is the result of two sessions with Cubase & GPO... probably about 5-7 hours invested so far:

I'm working my way through the song just trying to focus on getting some ideas on the virtual page... my plan is to double back later and smooth out the edges. Things I've noticed: I need to work on my mastering, the structure seems lacking (like it's not going anywhere at the moment), and my biggest gripe, the instrument blending/overall tonal balance. Hopefully once I finish up the Rimsky-Korsakov text I'll have a better idea of how to fix it.

Anyway, all feedback is encouraged.

Re: First Orchestral Attempt - Space Theme

Hello there!

A wonderful space theme! Very spacious and lush; you seem to have a good sense for sound - a great rendering especially brass.

Excellent job!

"...Wiktor's a Jekyll-Hyde personality..." - Lycos Music