• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: On the Cusp of Insanity (4th Movement)

On the Cusp of Insanity (4th Movement)

On Feb 29, 1992, I married an insane woman. She was 22 and too young to know any better and I was 34 and too horny to care.

I use to play a crappy old POS guitar that was very difficult to get into tune and even harder to keep tuned. It would take me about 10 minutes to get it ready to play and by that time she had had enough and said put that thing away. So for the next 10 years I didn't play guitar.

She was manic-depressive, knew it and wouldn't do anything about it other than use some illegal depressents. Real smart.

As things got progressively worse thru the years, I yearned to play guitar again so I started playing out in the shed. A short time later, a friend of mine would join me with his 2 better guitars and my old one got put aside. A month later, when many other people would show up to hear us play, she came out to the shed and listened and said she was amazed that I knew how to play.

This piece deals with me "On the Cusp of Insanity" for the 10 years I was with her ( I am now divorced). The first 3 movements, (which I will post in time), lead up to this one. Many themes in this one came from the first three and will make more sense when the entire piece is posted, but I think this one is the most powerful of the 4, so I decided to post it 1st.

I composed this last winter in sib4 and now it is from sib5 thru KP2 with all GPO.

Here is the 4th Movement

All comments are appreciated and welcome.

BTW This is my 3rd String Quartet

Re: On the Cusp of Insanity (4th Movement)

That's quite a story, Ron - Thanks for telling us the sad details of what inspired this piece.

I know I'm being influenced by the textual introduction, but it was as if it was almost painfully personal to listen.

But it's not as if I didn't find it effective. I did. Very much.