• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Finale 2008?

Finale 2008?

Being a student still (PhD... hehe. even at 30 years old) I can get the discounted version of Finale, which can be used commercially (I know, I checked).

What I was wondering is this:

1. Student version of Finale 2008 is the same with the normal version? Or is missing some sounds, maybe?
    2. Finale 2008 comes with GPO. This GPO is 1.6 GB, which I would imagine that it would be a reduced version of GPO, right?
    3. All academic stores I found (I found one with $219 which is a steal) are in the USA, so don't know if I can buy (don't think they ship). Would it be legal to ship it to someone and get it here? I am a student after all. Or possible can someone provide a link to a UK based academic store, please?

Thank you for your time!

Re: Finale 2008?

The short answer for 1 and 2 is yes and yes. The GPO included with finale has some modifications that make articulations, smart shapes, etc. work better.

As for 3, I don't know of any academic retailers outside of the US, but someone here might. Alternatively, If you know someone here in the states you might be able to have it shipped to them, and then have them ship it to you. Most the academic stores don't really check where you are shipping to as long as you can prove you are a student. I typically order from Academic Superstore and they have never had a problem with me shipping to my home in NY despite my current address being in NC.

Hope this helps.

Timothy Rolls, DMA
    Assistant Professor of Music Theory/Composition/Technology
    Fort Hays State University

Perth, Western Australia

Personally I would suggest going for Finale. Playback using HP is far superior to any other scoring package out there.
    While Fin2k8 has a cut down version of GPO included, it fully supports full GPO (using the .9 notation set) and also fully supports all other Garritan Libraries.