• Register
  • Help

Topic: Question regarding resources for learning composition and arranging

Share/Bookmark

Question Question regarding resources for learning composition and arranging

Folks:

I have finally reached a point in my life where I have more time to devote to music, which I have dearly loved all of my life. I started playing piano when I was 6 (47 years ago) but didn’t play for many years as an adult. I received a Bachelor of Arts degree in Sacred Music back in the early 80s, but have never done anything with it. I became a computer engineer, and really have given little time to music for the past 25 years.
    I would like to learn to compose both choral as well as orchestral works. I know that I have a long road in front of me, but I am determined.
    I have no desire to go back to school (too old), and for me, I find it is best to learn on my own, as I can be flexible and study when I’m not working.
    What I am asking you all is for your advice, as to what texts and/or other resources to purchase that I can use to learn the skills that I need in order to compose and arrange.
    Any help and advice is GREATLY appreciated, thanks so much!

Re: Question regarding resources for learning composition and arranging

Re: Question regarding resources for learning composition and arranging

You can indeed teach yourself to compose! Strangely, there are practically no books entitled "How to Compose Music". You have to piece it together with books on harmony, form, and orchestration.

For orchestration, you have the Rimsky-Korsakov orchestration and Chuck Israels jazz arranging courses here at Garritan, which allow you to listen to the examples as you read--unbeatable! Adler's book is another popular text.