• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: “Fugue” for Solo Clarinet

Share/Bookmark

“Fugue” for Solo Clarinet

I hope you were intrigued by the title

Saturday I listened to a piece titled “Fugue for Solo Violin”. I thought it was excellent how the composer used spaces in the theme together with double and triple stopping to have a solo non-keyboard instrument play a fugue. It got me thinking about how it would sound with a totally mono instrument.

I got out my pocket music notebook (just bought it and this is the first use) and jotted down a few bars of rhythms that encompassed three entries of the beginning rhythm (up to the middle of bar 8).

Sunday I started playing with those rhythms and came up with this piece.

I was originally going to spend a lot of time working out the counterpoint and voice leading, maybe work on some harmonies, but this just flowed out. I spent Christmas Eve playing with the sounds in Cubase and made a few tweaks on Christmas.

Anyway, maybe not technically a fugue, but I hope you can make out the three voices. To help I am posting a score.

MP3 file – “Fugue” for Clarinet
    PDF file – “Fugue” for Clarinet

As always, all comments good, bad or ugly welcomed.
    ----------------
    Edit 12/28
    ---------------
    Sorry for bumping this back to the top, but I made a big addition.

I was thinking of making this part of a suite of existing pieces for solo clarinet. Well, I made a recording with it in place.

If you have the time, give a listen and let me know if it works (careful, large download).

Suite for Solo Clarinet

0:00 – Bouncing Along (“Fugue” for Clarinet)
    2:05 – Watching the Butterflies (“scherzo”)
    2:49 – Cat spots the Butterfly (Adagio)
    4:22 – Reawakening (Allegretto)
    5:30 – Reminiscence (Variations)

(time is start times)

The style of the variation movement might not fit, but I think the mood does. What do you think?