• Register
  • Help

Topic: Slow VSL string attack in Kontakt - how to solve it?

Share/Bookmark

Slow VSL string attack in Kontakt - how to solve it?

Hi

I've been trying to load the string sections from the VSL Kontakt orchestra into Kontakt 2 (this was the library which came bundled with the program). However, the attack for the instruments seems really slow - it after you play a key it takes a few moments for the sound to reach full velocity, kind of like crescendo-ing into the note. I'm still new to Kontakt and haven't probed its powerful capabilities, apart from to use the modulation filter to extend / remove attack, decay, hold etc. However, even with the attack on these violins set to 0, I'm still getting the same effect. Can someone advise me if there is something I can change to get the sound I want?

Thanks

Re: Slow VSL string attack in Kontakt - how to solve it?

I'm afraid you're gonna have to import the waw files into an audio editor and cut off the attack if you want a more aggressive attack out of your samples. Once this is done you can build your new instrument by mapping it like it was before. Please note that you should rename each wav file with a different name or else kontakt will get confuse at some point. Just a O before sus like :Osus, that should do it. And renamed the instrument as well of course.

Once you've remapped the instrument in Kontakt you can use the attack(ADSR) to trim down this unnatural attack you've created in your audio editor. Of course you could trim the samples in your audio editor one by one but it will take a while.

There's a free audio editor here if you don't have one:

http://audacity.sourceforge.net/

Happy new year!

Many thanks for this - what a pain!

I presume if this is the only way round it that I could just open the files in the audio editor and save them with the same name, which would mean I didn't have to remap the entire instrument?