• Register
  • Help

Topic: Flute Concerto

Flute Concerto

Hi All,

This is my first posting here. This is a piece written last October for Flute, Strings and Timpani...

I would love to hear any feedback.

John Driscoll

Shelton, Washington State

Re: Flute Concerto

Hello John and welcome to the forum or at least the listening room.

I liked your flute concerto. I thought some places were very emotive and it sounds like you are serious about it. It felt wagnerian in places to me which I like. You really got the big sound.

Technically it sounds like you're using a notation program which can make it sound a little choppy. Others can tell you more about this.

The verb was a little down in the hole sounding to me, especially on the faster passages with the flute.

I also noticed some volume change issues in a few places that seemed unnatural.

I'm no expert at all this so wait for others opinions. It's just what I'm

Also, if you want folks to listen to your music don't use esnips because it's mess for the listener to get to the file. Try Box.net.

Hello, John - Welcome to The Listening Room.

It's exciting to hear your first post here - This made for a very arresting listening experience for me. I enjoyed its drama very much - and a very effective choice of instrumentation. String arrangement especially swept me away, beautiful work.

It will be interesting to know how you work. Technical feedback could be tailored more depending on what kind of software you use.

I'll add that I think I understand Phil's comment about the reverb. Experimenting with a lighter touch on it could be worthwhile to try.

And I STrongly second the hope that you try a different site other than Esnips. Some of us have just pretty much given up on it, with all the pop-ups and junky pages of ads, and a player that doesn't work for a lot of people etc. "Box" is a nice, simple, effective site, as Phil pointed out.