• Register
  • Help

Topic: Would like step by step Info on making sampled libraries sound natural

Question Would like step by step Info on making sampled libraries sound natural

Hi all,
    I am new to this site. I have been using Garritan PO for a few years and just loaded Garritan BBand.
    I am on an IMac dual core 2.5 gig with 2gig ram.

I use Dp4.5 as the host for the libraries.

i am at the place where I want to tweak the 'performances' of the libraries to really get natural sounding crescendos/decrescendos, natural sounding phrasing that includes several attack styles in a single instrument eg: Legato flute or slurred flute lines with staccato notes sprinkled in.

I have read some of the 'controller' tutorials posted here, but I find them too be too much info in too small a space and find them hard to follow.

Does anyone have/know of a tutorial that takes 1 concept at a time, with audio examples and exercises and specific to whatever host is being used?
    For me , that would be DP4.5

SOme things I would like to learn (one at a time)

1: getting 'realistic' dynamic changes in a performance. To date, all I've heard is recordings with the volume 'slider' being raised or lowered, which sounds really unnatural to me.

2. Getting realistic multiple articulations that occur may in a single instrument in a single passage. To date, I find myself having to load various instances of the instrument with different attacks and split the passage between 2 or 3 tracks to accomodate the articulation changes.
    3. realistic Harp glissandi, and glissandi for other instruments. I have read one or two tutorials for this , but they were confusing, very involved and when I tried to duplicate them, I got nothing that remotely sounded real or natural.
    4. String harmonics: are there any patches of String Harmonics available, or at least be able to manipulate the overtones with some plug-in to simulate string harmonics?