• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: OT: Film Composers..How do You Practice?

Share/Bookmark

OT: Film Composers..How do You Practice?

Hi,
    just curious since i think it's difficult for all of us to have a Movie to score.........do you simply cut off the audio from a movie and compose your own music???

Re: OT: Film Composers..How do You Practice?

There are tons of areas to score original music. Lots of student filmmakers, amateur filmmakers (especially since the advent of YouTube and the internet), local t.v. stations needing some music, etc. It may take a little networking but that is better practice than the actual art of filmscoring.

honestly, I studied harmony, counterpoint, orchestration, basic music theory in university and networked amongst the film students to get some training. And this was done in the days before these fancy DAWS existed. I scored most of my projects using timings and click books. It wasn't fun but it got the job done. It also taught me to write music away from the visual distraction of the film. I watched the film a few times, took notes, and went away to write the score. then I would match it up against the picture and re-worked stuff as needed.

I effectively stopped scoring films in the late '90s before the computer/DAW age really became accessible to many. I have downloaded the occasional trailer from Apple Trailers and scored things like Letters From Iwo Jima because I thought the original score sucked but I actually don't like watching the film in a movie window while I compose. I find it too distracting and I develop a knee-jerk music style because I am reacting literally to what is happening rather than playing the sub-text of the scene.

Those are my thoughts. Not sure if they help you though!