• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Please advice: GPO + what

Share/Bookmark

Please advice: GPO + what

I am a violinist trying to compose music for the first time. Recently I bought GPO under the impression that Overture SE is included in GPO. I learned that Overture SE is not even available in the website for download. Since I cannot play keyboard, my only option to create music is though notation software. Could anyone in this forum guide me which version (PrintMusic, Allegro etc.) of Finale is required for me to use GPO? Do I need to buy any other DAW?

Since I am a newbie, I don’t want to invest a lot on tools in the beginning. I just want to create a few mp3s to understand my capability. Please advise me on the options available to me.

Thanks
    Danie

Re: Please advice: GPO + what

Danie,

The full version of Finale can integrate GPO directly into it. I'm not sure if you can load GPO into Allegro/Print Music.

Since notation programs appeal to different people, download the demos for Finale and Sibelius. They have different strengths and weaknesses. (and the demos for Allegro/Print Music if you like.)

See if you prefer one over another. Or perhaps you might have a friend who uses a notation program. If you do, you might have a little personal support system there.

Take your time, this is a lot of new info to learn.

Jeff

Thanks Jeff. The full version of Finale seems to come with GPO. I think I made a bad decision.

Do I need any other DAW (like Sonar etc) to mix and to create mp3? Or If I buy any of these DAW instead of Finale, would I be able to enter notation?

Thanks
    Danie

Finale comes with a subset of GPO - not all of it.
    MacPro 2.66 - Tiger & Snow Leopard / 16GB RAM / several TB of HD space/ Garritan Libraries / EWQLSO Platinum PLAY / Omnisphere/ Kontakt 2 & 3 / Finale 2010 /DP5/ a VERY patient wife!

Quote Originally Posted by JJDanie