• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Once upon a time.....

Share/Bookmark

Once upon a time.....

I have been using GPO for many years but this is the first post here.

As a pianoteacher I have always found it hard to have students play together with others. There are not so much litterature for piano and orchestra on an easy level. Therefore I have made 2 concerts, the second last year, with students playing with a big orchestra. And that is for young students playing their first year and onward. To do such a project you need to make new arrangements of everything, taking in consideration the soloist skill but also those in the orchestra that also are mostly students. In the last year concert we had about 70 musicians and music from Beethoven to rock from the 80th.

It can be a shock for young beginners to play together with such a big orchestra and here GPO comes in. I made recordings of every song for the pianists to rehearse with. They got files with and without piano and different tempos. When they arrived for the first rehearsel they knew everything that happened in the orchestra and had no problem to play with them.

Everything is made in Finale (without HP), directly from the score and using Gpo Studio for the ease of record to file.

Here is one example from Morricones; Once upon a time in America.

http://www.slandrommusik.se/Ljudfile...20a%20time.mp3

Björn

Re: Once upon a time.....

Sounds wonderful good. What a great idea!! In the past we had vinyl records, the so called Music Minus One, with the score for orchestra and soloist for e.g. pianists, violin players, etc. I've seen all sorts of stuff. Not only classical music. I don't know if those recordings exist on CD, with the same quality. Congratulations with your project!!!

Raymond

Thanks Raymond,

Yes I remember those recordings. But as I remember it they were only in full tempo so it was really difficult to play along...or rather catch up.

Björn