• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Topic: Traditional Theory Books Recommendation

Share/Bookmark

Traditional Theory Books Recommendation

I was looking for some suggestions on the best books for Traditional Music Theory and Harmony. Basically the stuff related to the classical side, not jazz or commercial. Stuff like proper voice leading, all those different augmented chords, etc. I need to brush up on it for teaching and it's been awhile since I studied in school. Never used a textbook back in college, so need something that will take me from beginning to advanced.
    I looked into the Robert Ottman books, but read reviews that there are many mistakes.

Any recommendations would be welcomed.

Thanks,
    Mike

Re: Traditional Theory Books Recommendation

A book that I am reading/working through right now is Walter Piston's Harmony. It seems to be a good book. In our Theory class at school, we're not using a textbook, the teacher copies chapters out of multiple textbooks, so I can't recommend anything there. But the Piston book seems good.

--Richard

Stefan Kostka and Dorothy Payne; Tonal Harmony.

It was my college theory text, and I'm thankful it was. I consider myself strong in theory, at least on the tonal side of classical music, and this text is largely responsible for that.

Belbin

The Contrapuntal Harmonic Technique of the 18th Century
    by Allen Irvine Mchose

This was my college theory textbook in 1957-58. This was, at the time, the basic theory textbook at Eastman as well. This pre-dates the Piston book and, while out of print, can be found used at several outlets online. I highly reccomment it. It seems to answer what you say you are looking for.
    Jerry
    Dayton, Kentucky
    Personally, I'm waiting for caller IQ.