• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Big Band Type- Luke Warm Vibe

Big Band Type- Luke Warm Vibe

Hi Im a newbie to forum, JABB and

This is my first ever attempt at a big band type composition and arrangement..
    (It is a link to page where you can stream or download )

I wrote it out on paper, played the parts by keyboard and edited them in GarageBand.

If you read the comments correctly, they are not very favorable.
    I am not happy about it myself, but though it was tolerable,
    I did not find a way to get proper tonguing, if anyone has a clue I would appreciate it. Also if you have other advices I would appreciate that.

Bellingham, WA

Re: Big Band Type- Luke Warm Vibe

I am an "old newbie" that really likes your piece. It has a true Basie style, sounding a lot like a Nestico or Billy Byer arrangement. There is nothing wrong with your chart as is, and I would purchase it in a heartbeat, knowing how good it would sound with a live band. However, doing your arrt.with the GJBB instruments would add a more realistic or authentic big band sonority to your demo. There are a lot of sequencing and editing wizards in this forum, and I'm sure you'll be hearing from.
    Write on!

Welcome to this forum, tordenspyd!

This is certainly a polished-sounding chart; you've got the big band voicings and style down, and I would guess that you've had a lot of experience with it as a player. It most definitely shows up all the way through this tune... very Nestico or Bill Holman-esque!

I'm a little unclear, though, as to the sounds you used; were these from JABB or from another library? There are some pretty accomplished JABB users here who would be very willing to offer the type of feedback you asked for in your post.

I'm sure, from the sound of this first post, that you will be offering a lot of great listening for evryone here very soon. Thanks for this very cool piece!

A warm welcome, tordenspyd!