• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Request for References

Share/Bookmark

Request for References

Hi folks,

I have a favor to ask. I am trying to put together a pamphlet of some sort to introduce conductors of various ensembles to me and my music, since ultimately what I've been writing is geared toward live performance, and I'm just beginning to send out scores. Since I have no official credentials (eg music degree, etc) I would be very grateful for any brief sentences of recommendation that any of you on the forum might care to offer, especially those of you most familiar with my music. Something short, simple and honest (eg "Lunatic with a knack for music and limericks" or something like that ).

If this is something you feel moved to do, I would be most grateful if you could send me, via email (ke_peace@msn.com),
    1) your full name,
    2) a brief few recommendation words,
    3) a brief title or description of your experience/degree/job/credentials -- whatever would most make a conductor of a classical ensemble take note (examples:, "composer", "God of Music", "PhD Music, Juillard", "film orchestrator", "Principal Flautist with (ensemble)", "Professor of Music (with school)", "Composer-in-residence (with location/group)", etc) and
    4) a website if you have one and if you'll permit me to list that with your name.

I would be most grateful. Whatever you say should be something you feel totally comfortable saying about my music, knowing it will be sent to professional conductors.

I am only at this point because of the support and mentorship of many people, including many on this forum. For all you have given me -- knowledge, time, advice, listening, encouragement and a sense of community -- my deepest gratitude.

Happy New Year and good luck in Orchestration Challenge #15!!!

Karen

Re: Request for References

ps. if you prefer, you can also post it here, whatever is more convenient for you....

Karen,