• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Beethoven Sym. #7 - 2nd Mov. for Concert Band

Share/Bookmark

Beethoven Sym. #7 - 2nd Mov. for Concert Band

I noticed that my last piece is now about to be on Page 4. I have been really consumed by auditioning 2 demo versions of notation programs. I have never used notation programs before.

This Beethoven piece is one of my favorites in the literature. As the piece unfolded for me, I thought that it contained a "magical moment" in the second passage with the contrabass clarinet. The third note of its motif just seems to perfectly resonate with the other instruments.

Critical comments, as always, are appreciated.

Frank

http://www.box.net/shared/5j7uh6h9ck
    Frank Newman - Houston, Texas, USA, Earth, Milky Way (for our 'extended' viewership)
    Vista Ult SP2, i7 chipset, 12Gb, 500Gb (int) + 1 & 1.5Tb ext., E-MU 1820, Sonar 8.5PE, VSampler, CME UF5, AcousModules (for 3D playback), GPO/JBB/CMB

Re: Beethoven Sym. #7 - 2nd Mov. for Concert Band

Hi, Frank - Very good to see you here with more music.

OH my but the posts here in The Listening Room really can move on down the line quickly can't they though? It's great the Forum is so busy, even though it means a lot of pieces don't get all that much exposure.

This is indeed a magnificent composition, and the work you've done adapting it for Concert Band I think is fairly successful. Amazing attention to detail.

Please bear with what I think is an important technical note - This is completely FLoating with reverb--IMHO it's far too much. It's like the music is coming to me from a hazy dream--robbing the music of some of its power. I