• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Topic: Footsteps for Violin and Cello

Share/Bookmark

Footprints for Violin and Cello

Hi All,

I have recently completed a little duet for the Strad and my new Gofriller. I usually work in Overture4 but since I found that Finale2008 works very well with these two instruments, I decided to use Finale instead of Overture to play back the score. Of course HumanPlayback also makes it sound very nice in half the time it takes to get the same kind of playback from Overture.

This piece is not very usual for me. It will probably come as a bit of a surprise to many. Many years ago as an undergrad student I was fortunate enough to have jazz theory and harmony classes with Darius Brubeck, the son of the famous Dave Brubeck. Of course at the time I was not overy interested in jazz and didn't take too much note of it. All I remember very clearly was the way the man taught his class, standing to the side of the grand piano in the lecture hall, smoking one cigarette after another and talking about chords that I never imagined even existed and all of this in an American accent that was completely foreign to me.

Anyway, with this little piece I kind of want to remember that time in my own small way.

In this short little piece, the music is probably a little exaggerated but I hope pleasant enough for you to listen to. If anyone would like to see the score it is HERE (I thought I will use the jazzy font just for fun, and it is not a finnished score, but most of the things are there).

I hope you will enjoy this.

Mp3 is here :

Sur le sable nos pas s'effacent déjà

Edit : I thought I will just explain the meaning of the title, in case it was a little confusing. It simply means that our footprints in the sand have disappeared already.
    Kind Regards

Louis Dekker
    My Music Site

Pour être grand, il faut avoir été petit.

Re: Footsteps for Violin and Cello

Absolute great, Louis. A very CONTEMPORARY jazz